Skip to main content
HomeAchievement Awards Dinner

THE Achievement Awards Dinner

The program recognizes leaders in the Pittsburgh community in the areas of business, education, medicine, law, community advocacy and Citizen of the Year who has most demonstrated the principles of the Iota Phi Foundation. Each year the Foundation “presents” these honorees at a black tie (optional) event which includes a program and dinner. In the past 15 years alone, more than 135 individuals have been recognized for making a difference in our communities.  

 Awards Honorees 2019   Student Scholars 2019

AWD 2019 Post Gazette Pics

During the program we also recognize leaders, organizations and institutions whose contributions to the region deserve particular note. We also present the Iota Phi Foundation Scholarship winners. (Click on image to the right for the complete program book)

The proceeds from the Achievement Awards Dinner, achieved through sponsorships, ads placed in the souvenir program booklet, and tickets sales, fund the Foundation's Social Action and Scholarship program. 

Our sponsors and donors are vital to our success. This year we were grateful to again have UPMC as a Title Sponsor of our scholarship program. Each year we rely on partners to underwrite portions of this event, purchase tickets to attend and/or place an ad in the Program booklet. Please review the Sponsorship Packages and consider supporting us next year.

Pittsburgh Post-Gazette



 Good One

      UPMC - Scholarship Sponsor    Highmark 
  Amerprise Financial Services - Antonio Aiello    Housing Authority City of Pittsburgh
  Aaron R. Mann       
  August Wilson African   

Kevin Andrews

  American Cultural Center    Mark Boyd
  Barry Lumsden    McMahan Gray

Bats Barbershop

  Mount Ararat Baptist Church
  Carlton Heywood 
  Omega Psi Phi Fraternity
  Community College of Allegheny County 
  Patron Ad Supporters
  Dale Perdue
  Paul I. Overby
  Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.
  Randolph Brockington
  Elmer Haymon
  Rivers Casino
  Emmitt Wilson

Rodney Jones

  Entergy Electric Company, LLC    Roland Coston-Criswell/ Coston Funeral Homes
  Frederick O. Kendricks   Wilbur E. Hines 

2019 Patron Supporters


Yusef Ali

Eric Anderson

William Blackburn

Randolph & Karen Brockington

Ron Coursey

Frederick & Michelle Ritter-Crawford

Roland & Bethany Coston- Criswell

Ron Curry

Reverend Dr. William H. Curtis

Chris Darby

Ashley Day

Robert Downing

Robert A. Edison

Richard B. Edmunds
Mychal Evans

George Fields

Chuck Franklin

Darian Grant “Centennials”

Mcmahan & Tamaka Gray

Ernest & Norma Groover

Paul Harper

Michael & Tamara Harrell

Dr. Rahmon & Nneka Hart

Dr. Elmer Haymon

Carlton Heywood

Wilbur E. Hines

Dr. Allen R. Hodges

Bryan Holland

John A. Holloway

Stanley Holbrook
Mike Howard
Ronald & Karen Hunt
Willie James
Jessie & Louise Jenkins
Brandon & Mia Jennings
Dr. Herman A. Jones
Rodney & Kim Jones
Ron Jones


Derek L. Kelly
Frederick O. Kendricks
Ron & Valerie Lawrence
John Laymon
Barry Lumsden

Aaron R. Mann

Basil D. Martin

Klyle Mcenheimer

Larry Meadows, Jr.

Kenneth L. Minefield & Jackie Lewis

Alexander Nichols

Paul Overby

Andre Patterson

Devin Patterson

Dale & Rosesharon Perdue

Alec Piper

Privette Family

Albert & Anniece Reese

Tony Ringgold

Noel & Tamara Roach

Hassan & Tamika Sharif

Maurice Smith

Greg & Janet Spencer
Rick Southers
Monte & Deborah Stephens
Rick Squires
Chris Thompson
Frank & Winifred Torbert Jr.
Mr. & Mrs. Frank L. Torbert III
Leon Williams
Frank C. Walker II
Joseph & Denise Washington
Emmett Wilson
Ray Zellars